During the middle ages, LOCO was the principal village and the main trading and administrative center in the Onserone Valley. Not
too long ago there was no road to Auressio and all cargo and passenger travel relied on mule transport on narrow paths. Such paths
are known locally as "Mulateria".
On of the best remaining paths is the one between Intragna and Loco, continuing further to the end
of the valley and via the mountain pass "Passo della Garina" to the Maggia Valley. These paths are used as hiking trails today and
lead through the fields and forest, where you can enjoy the quiet surroundings and commune with nature.
The church San Remigio at
Loco is dedicated to St. Remigius, the Bishop of Reims. It dates from the first half of the 16th Century. Later it was rebuilt and
extended several times, but the foundations indicate that it was originally established between the 7th -9th Century BC. Noteworthy
are the carved wood work and the altar. The organ dates back to 1836.
The Onserone Valley stretches from the Centovalli Valley as far as the Hot Springs in Graveggia in Italy. On the valley floor the
river has carved out many narrow and deep gorges to accent the wild and character of the Onserone Valley. Just before the confluence
of the Isorno and Melezza Rivers the valley opens wider and the valley sides retreat and the flanks are covered in large, dense, edible
On the mountain sides in the Onserone Valley are sun drenched plateaus, formed during the last Ice Age. On these
sheltered spots picturesque villages have flourished and are still worth visiting today.
The Valle Onsernone was in those days the
residence of many intellectual People like, Visconti-Clan, Elias Canetti, Max Ernst, Kurt Tucholsky, Golo Mann und Max Frisch.
Fresco from G.S. Meletta
Enormous Forest on Valley
Copyright (C) 2002-2016 Casa ai Mulini - Ticino